The ten Techstars Energy companies

These ten companies participate in the Techstars Energy Accelerator 2018

Ampaire

California, USA

Ampaire is making flying accessible to more people from more airports by building electric aircraft that are greener, quieter, and less costly to operate.

Traction and milestones

  • Raised $3.75M
  • Has letters of interest from eight airlines, representing approximately 150 aircrafts
  • Named the top aerospace start-up at the Hello Tomorrow Global Summit

Source: Company website

Kevin Noertker
CEO
kevin@ampaire.com

Crux OCM

Calgary, Canada

Crux OCM utilises AI and real-time optimisation to enable autonomous operation of pipelines, reducing the risk of operation and increasing volumetric throughput up to 4%.

Traction and milestones

  • Winner of the Energy New Ventures Pitch competition, Canada 2018
  • In discussion for initial trials with  three Canadian Midstream companies
  • Both founders bring deep domain experience in pipeline operations

Source: Company website

Vicki Knott
CEO
vicki@cruxocm.com
Roger Shirt
CTO
roger@cruxocm.com

DeepStream

London, UK

DeepStream is a secure cloud-based procurement network for buyers and suppliers of equipment and services, particularly in the oil and gas and energy infrastructure markets. 

Traction and milestones

  • 160 active companies and 244 active users
  • Already started generating revenue
  • ~$50MM of tender value traded in July and August 2018

Source: Company website

Jack Macfarlane
CEO
jm@deepstreamtech.com
David Carruthers
Co-Founder
dc@deepstreamtech.com
Adel Louertatani
Co-Founder
adel@deepstreamtech.com

Interface Fluidics

Calgary, Canada

Interface Fluidics' proprietary nanofluidic platform provides rapid lab testing that empowers the energy industry to understand how their chemicals perform, 100x faster and with more detail.

Traction and milestones

  • Raised $1M
  • Gross Sales > $1MM un under 2 years
  • 2017 – Alberta’s Top Technology Start-up as selected by the A100 and ASTech “Outstanding Technology Start-up”

Source: Company website

Stuart Kinnear
CEO
stuart.k@interfacefluidics.com

Opus 12

California, USA

Converting CO2 into fuel and valuable products. The technology will have the CO2 converting power of 37.000 trees, but in the volume of a suitcase.

Traction and milestones

  • Funding Awards: U.S. DOE, NASA, NSF, California Energy Commission
  • Rolling Stone's 25 People Shaping the Next 50 Years
  • MIT Innovators Under 35
  • Forbes 30 Under 30, Energy

Source: Company website

Nicholas Flanders
CEO
nicholas@opus-12.com

RatedPower

Madrid, Spain

RatedPower provides pvDesign, a cloud-based software to design large-scale solar power plants worldwide in just a few minutes.

Traction and milestones

  • 20+ big corporation customers in 1,5 years
  • pvDesign,is used in 50+ countries
  • Named as one of the world top energy innovators by the World Energy Council and German Energy Agency

Source: Company website

Andrea Barber
CEO
abarber@ratedpower.com
Juan Romero
CTO
jromero@ratedpower.com

SafeEx

Norresundby, Denmark

Today oil companies do maintenance using pen and paper. SafeEx's software digitises inspection and maintenance which saves their customers 25-40% on manpower.

Traction and milestones

  • $1M in revenue 
  • 20+ global oil and gas customers

Source: Company website

Henrik Andersen
CEO
henrik@safeex.com

Sensytec

Texas, USA

Sensytec has developed Smart Cement™, a technology to help Oil and Gas operators enhance cement integrity by monitoring cement conditions in real time through the life time of an oil well.

Traction and milestones

  • ·        Received $2.5M research grant from U.S Department of Energy
  • ·        Won 5 Global Business Plan Competitions and raised over 100K dollars
  • ·        Received $50K  National Science Foundation I-Corp grant funding

Source: Company website

Ody De La Paz
CEO
delapaz.ody@sensytec.com
Sai Anudeep Reddy Maddi
CTO
anudeep.maddi@sensytec.com

Versor

Oslo, Norway

Versor makes drone autonomy software for end-to-end infrastructure inspections, enabling AI-driven data capture and automatic fault detection across industrial applications.

Traction and milestones

  • Executed a fully autonomous mapping mission in a GPS-denied environment in March (MVP)
  • Helped demonstrate an end-to-end fully autonomous power line inspection in April (Live Demo)

Source: Company website

Erlend Sierra
CEO
erlend@versor.io
Eirik Legernæs
CTO
eirik@versor.io
Christer Mathiesen
CSO
christer@versor.io

Voyager

Texas, USA

Voyager is a cloud-based data hub helping the commodity shipping industry enhance decision making, automate processes and connect systems.

Traction and milestones

  • Raised $300K in seed funding, grants and awards
  • Currently piloting with leading companies in target sector
  • 30+ companies in pipeline with five late-stage

Source: Company website

Matthew Costello
CEO
matt@voyagerportal.com
Bret Smart
COO
bret@voyagerportal.com