Class of 2021

In 2021, the Equinor & Techstars Energy Accelerator has been entirely virtual. Over 150 mentors have participated, assisting the start-ups mature and grow.


On Demo Day, the start-ups presented their pitches to a global audience. Equinor Ventures signed a Letter of Intent (LOI) with f3nice, an Italian additive manufacturing company. (F3nice’s technology will source metal scrap and disused parts and convert this into metal powder, which can be used as input material for printing of new parts. Equinor will support a project to test and validate F3nice’s technology and business model).

In addition, Equinor Ventures awarded two Accelerator Prizes to Cnergreen and Ocean Access. (Cnergreen is commercialising a nanoparticle-based foam technology enabling cleaner hydrocarbon production. Ocean Access is developing a more reliable and cost-effective solution for accessing and gathering information from remote locations offshore). The companies will receive USD 50.000 each.


Solving the high cost of renewable hydrogen by using alkaline exchange materials to replace precious metals.


Circular economy for additive manufacturing.

Vortex Bladeless

Harnessing wind energy without blades, reducing the cost of electricity.


Enhanced oil recovery and CO2 storage efficiency via resilient nanoparticle-based foam technology.

RZX Tecnologia

Minimizing human error in industry by using a neuroscientific approach to develop solutions.


No more lives lost at sea with nextgen IoT. The next step in improving the standard of safety.

Ocean Access

Increased operational autonomy and reliability for remote ocean & subsea monitoring.


Geologists and data scientists bringing digital transformation to upstream oil and gas.

Hyperion Global Energy

Developing modular carbon capture & recycling technology at a breakthrough industrial scale.

Portrait gallery of people attending Teams meeting
From the left: Stephen Hermeston (Geolumina), Hugh Mc Girr (Techstars), Simen Helgesen (Ocean Access), Philip Hansteen (Equinor), Mikkel Haug (KONGSBERG), Ali Telmadarreie (Cnergreen), Rodger Bernar (Cnergreen), Audun Abelsnes (Techstars), Matteo Vanazzi (f3nice), Elin Skauge (Capgemini), Fredrik Lilleøkdal (Ocean Access), Gabriel G. Rodríguez-Calero (Ecolectro), Andreas Mauritzen (Ocean Access), Ingrid Jenssen (Ocean Access), Sigurd Knapstad (Capgemini), Jose Francisco Baldassim (RZX Tecnologia), Kristian Mikkelsen (Ocean Access), Edvard Ronglan (Ocean Access), Shirin Safarzadeh (Ocean Access), Ingrid Marie Langballe (Capgemini), Kristina M. Hugar (Ecolectro), Luisa Elena Mondora (f3nice), Bendik Barane (Capgemini), Sarah Finegan (Techstars), Lars Johan Frigstad (Dimeq).